Sonic Cool - The Life & Death of Rock'N'Roll - Joe Harrington Hal Leonard

PRODUCT CODE: S-330763

59.95 59.95 59.95 AUD

59.95

    IN-STOCK
    Own it now, pay later Learn more
    Enjoy now. Pay Later. Interest Free.
    Interest Free. Learn more
    Free Shipping over $50
    Click & Collect
    After Hours Parcel Pick Up
    Expert Advice
    Loyalty Benefits
    100% Family Owned

    In the tradition of Nick Tosches, Tom Wolfe and Lester Bangs comes an epic and riveting history of rock and roll that reads like a novel. Sonic Cool presents the saga of rock and roll as the closest thing we have to genuine “myth” in the modern world, and it is the first book about rock to be written in the spirit of rock. Immense, fierce,opinionated and hilarious, Joe Harrington masterfully presents rock as a movement of near-religious proportions, against a backdrop of social factors and important events such as the invention of the guitar, the jukebox, LSD, the 12-inch phonograph record, the '70s recession, the ReaganRevolution, and the Internet. This is the history of rock as it's never been told, as the legend of a massive cultural movement, one that had m eaning, but ultimately failed because it sold its soul. Radically egalitarian in its assessments – towering figures such as Lennon, Dylan and Cobain stand along side lesser-known but equally influential artistslike the MC5, the Misfits and Joy Division – Sonic Cool is gripping reading for anyone who ever believed in the music. Includes a 16-page black-and-white photo insert.

    Joe S. Harrington began writing at the age of 10, an act that provoked a rejection slip from Mad magazine. He has written about music for the Boston Globe, Boston Phoenix, New York Press, Seattle Stranger, Lowell Sun, Wired, Reflex, Raygun, High Times, Seconds, Rollerderby and numerous fanzines. He is currently employed as an on-line jazz critic at Amazon, and lives in Portland, Maine. Softcover.

    PRODUCT DETAILS

    In the tradition of Nick Tosches, Tom Wolfe and Lester Bangs comes an epic and riveting history of rock and roll that reads like a novel. Sonic Cool presents the saga of rock and roll as the closest thing we have to genuine “myth” in the modern world, and it is the first book about rock to be written in the spirit of rock. Immense, fierce,opinionated and hilarious, Joe Harrington masterfully presents rock as a movement of near-religious proportions, against a backdrop of social factors and important events such as the invention of the guitar, the jukebox, LSD, the 12-inch phonograph record, the '70s recession, the ReaganRevolution, and the Internet. This is the history of rock as it's never been told, as the legend of a massive cultural movement, one that had m eaning, but ultimately failed because it sold its soul. Radically egalitarian in its assessments – towering figures such as Lennon, Dylan and Cobain stand along side lesser-known but equally influential artistslike the MC5, the Misfits and Joy Division – Sonic Cool is gripping reading for anyone who ever believed in the music. Includes a 16-page black-and-white photo insert.

    Joe S. Harrington began writing at the age of 10, an act that provoked a rejection slip from Mad magazine. He has written about music for the Boston Globe, Boston Phoenix, New York Press, Seattle Stranger, Lowell Sun, Wired, Reflex, Raygun, High Times, Seconds, Rollerderby and numerous fanzines. He is currently employed as an on-line jazz critic at Amazon, and lives in Portland, Maine. Softcover.

    VIDEOS

    REVIEWS

    DELIVERY

    This is a preview of the recently viewed products by the user.
    Once the user has seen at least one product this snippet will be visible.

    YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE