Skip to content
Free Standard Domestic Shipping Over $80
Free Standard Domestic Shipping Over $80

Concerto - for Violin and Piano - Alban Berg - Violin G. Henle Verlag

Sold out
Original price $88.00 - Original price $88.00
Original price
$88.00 - $88.00
Current price $88.00
Out of stock

The genesis of Berg’s Violin Concerto in 1935 is shrouded in tragedy. He had only just finished making the first sketches when Manon Gropius – the daughter of Walter Gropius and Alma Mahler, with whom Berg was friends – died of polio. He dedicated the concerto “To the memory of an angel” in her memory. Then Alban Berg died in 1935, so he no longer lived to see it printed or performed. Our edition – violin part and piano reduction – follow the score edited by Michael Kube, which is being published simultaneously by Breitkopf & Härtel together with the orchestral parts and pocket score. The illustrious violinist Frank Peter Zimmermann has provided fingerings and bowings for the violin part. This edition is worldwide available.