Skip to content
Free Standard Domestic Shipping over $80
Free Standard Domestic Shipping over $80

Britten - 3 Pieces from the Suite Op6 - Violin/Piano Accompaniment Boosey & Hawkes

Original price $36.95 - Original price $36.95
Original price
$36.95 - $36.95
Current price $36.95
Only 1 left!
SKU S-M060015465

Benjamin Britten's Suite, Op. 6, for Violin and Piano was composed during 1934-35. The first performance of the complete work was given on 13th March, 1936, as part of a BBC broadcast, by Antonio Brosa and Benjamin Britten, who gave the first concert performance of the Suite at the I.S.C.M. Festival on 21st April of that year. Three of the movements had previously been performed on 17th December, 1934, at the Wigmore Hall, London, by Henry Temianka and Betty Humby.As originally published the work comprised four movements - March, Moto Perpetuo, Lullaby and Walt - prefaced by a short introduction. At the composer's suggestion, the present edition excludes the Introduction and Moto Perpetuo, but retains the March, Lullaby and Waltz unaltered. In the Waltz, however, a short cut, whichwas previously optional, has been made obligatory.