Skip to content
Free Standard Domestic Shipping over $80
Free Standard Domestic Shipping over $80

John Psathas Œ_ Corybas - Piano Trio - John Psathas - Piano|Cello|Violin Promethean Editions Piano Trio Score/Parts

Sold out
Original price $85.00 - Original price $85.00
Original price
$85.00 - $85.00
Current price $85.00
Out of stock

In Corybas (2012), Psathas blends the complex rhythms of Eastern European dance music into a highly dynamic and playful work for piano trio. Corybas is the first of two companion works for piano trio that Psathas wrote with the Mediterranean in mind; the second being a calmer, more serene ŒñpostludeŒî to this work, Aegean. The piano drives much of the forward movement in Corybas by holding a repeating odd-metered groove while the string parts fall in and out of this texture. The strings build momentumthroughout by fusing together their melodic lines with the pianoŒÍs groo ve, offering short syncopated accents and uniting for dramatic and thrilling phrases. All of this makes for an exhilarating addition to piano trio repertoire.