Skip to content
Free Standard Domestic Shipping over $80
Free Standard Domestic Shipping over $80

Martinu - Impromptu - Violin/Piano Accompaniment Supraphon H5906

Sold out
Original price $16.95 - Original price $16.95
Original price
$16.95 - $16.95
Current price $16.95
Out of stock
SKU S-H5906

Impromptu for violin and piano (H. 166, Paris 1927) begins a new creative period in the life of Bohuslav Martin\303\271. It consists of three short character pieces dotted with daring bitonal chords, balancing as a whole on the very edge of tonality. The author pitted the more or less diatonic violin part against the greatly dissonant piano. The piece is the first time Martin\303\271 appealed to beginning musicians, to whom he decided to give easier access to modern music. The current edition of Isa Popelka is based on the first edition of the work by Hudebn\303\255 matice Umeleck\303\251 besedy (Prague, 1934), the Soviet edition (Moscow, 1968), and especially the composer\032s manuscript housed in Policka. Published by Baerenreiter Editio Supraphon Praha.