Skip to content
Free Standard Domestic Shipping over $80
Free Standard Domestic Shipping over $80

Norton - Quintet - 4 Violins/Piano Boosey & Hawkes M060114250

Sold out
Original price $96.00 - Original price $96.00
Original price
$96.00 - $96.00
Current price $96.00
Out of stock
SKU S-M060114250

Norton - Quintet - 4 Violins/Piano

A mysterious, allusive piece for 4 violins and piano, written originally for teenagers in Christopher Norton’s native New Zealand. Another side to Christopher Norton’s style.

The Quintet for 4 violins and piano is full of subtle and delicate textures and in the third of the three movements the freedom of expression hinted at in earlier movements flows into some totally free, atonal, arhythmic (and atypical!) music. The first movement is gentle and hesitant, with longer melodies gradually appearing out of short rhythmic figures. The second movement, ostinato, features an insistent Eb, D virtually throughout and is also distinguished by piano harmonics.