Skip to content
Free Standard Domestic Shipping over $80
Free Standard Domestic Shipping over $80

Roslawez - Violin Pieces Volume 1 - Violin/Piano Accompaniment Schott VLB161

Sold out
Original price $39.95 - Original price $39.95
Original price
$39.95 - $39.95
Current price $39.95
Out of stock

Nikolai Andreyevitch Roslawez (1880/81-1944) studied violin in his youth, taught violin later and very often even gave concerts himself. The works he left comprise numerous compositions for his favourite instrument: two violin concertos, six sonatas, cycles such as Three Dances (1923) and 24 Preludes (1941/1942) as well as many individual pieces. The two volumes published here for the first time complete the publication of his works for this instrumentation.

The different and varied character pieces date from the years 1907 to 1910 and 1930 and show the development of his personal style. Whereas the early pieces are rather traditional, Roslawez' later pieces show his way toward his individual tonal system; the closeness to Skriabin's music is conspicuous. The repertoire for this style is particularly sparse, and this is why both volumes are real treasure chests of character pieces and can be recommended to every violinist.

Morgenstimmung (1907)

Romance (1907)

Sérénade (1908)

Élégie (1908)

Rêverie (1908)

Gavotte (ca. 1930)